1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Critique On Red Headed Duck Pair

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by Rhianna Campbell, Mar 2, 2021.

1. Hello, I am new to taxidermy (started in January of this year). I mounted these ducks from start to finish as the first birds I did on my own under my mentor's supervision. I'm looking for critiques of things to improve on for birds/ducks in the future. Thanks! 20210302_143242.jpg 20210302_143252.jpg 20210302_143157.jpg 20210302_143247.jpg 20210302_143203.jpg

2. Without going into a lot of detail, I would suggest that you acquire a taxidermy video and watch it over and over and practice what is suggested. i.e. skinning, fleshing, washing over and over until all soap is gone from the skin etc., drying completely especially the feather down. There are some great videos out there that can really help you. You will find that the more you study references of what bird you are mounting that you will get a better finished mount. It takes time to learn all of these techniques and you will find that you will take what you learn in the videos and create your own style of mounting. Some taxidermist have a passion for the taxidermy world and always strive to become better while other do it so so to get by. These are observations I have learned over the years. The biggest thing I can tell you about mounting ducks & geese is that you have to know what that bird looks like in real life before you can properly mount it. JMO which is only mine. Good luck and if you have the passion you will succeed. Sorry so long

3. How does it look to you? You should be your worst critic.