1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Problem with customer pick-up?

Discussion in 'The Taxidermy Industry' started by inkyspal, Oct 18, 2006.

1. inkyspal

inkyspal New Member

GA
    I'm relatively new to the taxidermy business...have been mounting for others for about 6 months now. I am having a difficult time getting people to come and pick up their deer once they are notified of completion. They tell me they are coming by on X-day to pickup the deer and then never show. So, after I call them it's usually the same story...they are out of money. I have about 6 deer in my shop now that have been waiting on their owners to pick them up for far too long. Just wondering if anyone else has had problems along these lines....and what kind of policies do you have?

2. Becky P

Becky P One must believe the glass is half full.

I send them a certified letter (or is it registered? uhm, anyway, the one they have to sign for), telling them they have 30 days or I'll be adding a storage fee. That usually gets their attention.
    It's all in the contract they sign when they bring in their trophy AND pay their deposit (what, no deposit? they can store it in THEIR freezer til they get the $, I'm not a free storage facility). Thirty days to pick up, after 90 it's mine to do whatever with.

3. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

Use a contract, spell it out, set the rules. I started out without a contract, and I can testify that there are customers that disappear and play games on the followup of the sale. Most will drive right over after the first phone call with cash in their hands. But there are a few that will say one thing on the phone, and never show or reply. Get a contract, get a contract, get a contract. Get a 50% down up front deposit, it's easer for the customer to come up with the other half when done, and this will cover materials so you are not out anything but profit if they default.