1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Static tan with bilge pump

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by RichWolfe, Aug 29, 2006.

1. RichWolfe

RichWolfe New Member

I added a small 12 volt bilge pump to my 6 gallon bucket of tan for 1 coyote and 1 bobcat yesterday at 2:00 pm. In a few more hours
    i 'll have results from the use of the 12v. pump. Chemicles used were EZ 100.

2. Rich,

I have no clue what you just said LoL. I'm new to tanning and would like a short explaination of what you are trying to do.

Thank you for your time,
    Jose Q

3. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

My question is about your testing, how can you tell the difference between a cape in a static tan vs. a cape in a static tan with a ciculation pump. How are you going to tell the difference in the outcome?

4. Galen

Galen 218-263-7177 www.EdgewaterTaxidermy.com

Mr. T.

I am with you on that. I am not sure how to tell the difference either.

I am just Guessing,,,,, but I think the advantage is that a person does not have to keep stirring it by hand every so often. I have not used any pumps yet . , I would also like to know what is to gain by using the pumps if anyone knows.

Plus I just had to put up a post on the new site .
    Galen

5. rich wolfe

rich wolfe Guest

Re: RESULT :Static tan with bilge pump

OK.....no drum roll needed.....the 12 v. pump worked fine, at least. The hides seemed, may I say,... just a wee bit grainrier...

I use a variable speed wire wheel to flesh( after initial niife and beam fleshing immediately after skinning) between pickel and tanning operations.