1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Wolf Project

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by Jean M, Mar 12, 2022.

1. Jean M

Jean M Well-Known Member

After seeing lots if great content on here, I thought I might have something to share.

I will preface this by saying that this is by no means a "how to" or tutorial, just documenting my experiences through this project.

I am still fairly new to taxidermy and still experience many beginner challenges and roadblocks.
    Hope you find this entertaining.

So, the project:
    I had the opportunity to aquire 2 wolf capes. I originally thought it would be great to create a double pedestal mount, but once I thawed and inspected the hides, I found that one was in pretty rough shape, so it would be better suited to a practice mount.

I ordered a closed mouth pedestal form and an open mouth change-out head. 20220101_125307.jpg
    I wasn't crazy about the muzzle shape on this form, and since it was somewhat too large, I had to resculpt it anyway.

msestak likes this.
  2. Jean M

Jean M Well-Known Member

20220105_142408.jpg I cut off the head and replaced it with the open mouth , modifying the neck turn and resizing to fit the cape.
    I also had to resize the head since the supplier had only 6" e-n available and my wolves were more in the 5.5" range. Resizing a head pre fit with a jawset is a big of a head-scratcher for a newbie... lol. 20220105_142346.jpg 20220105_142511.jpg

porterfield, 13 point, tem and 2 others like this.

3. Jean M

Jean M Well-Known Member

20220218_173348.jpg 20220218_173243.jpg 20220219_094944.jpg Now, back to the practice head.

I grabbed some foam board that I had at home, I stacked it up and carved the new form using the original as my model.