1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

cape stitching

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by garcia25, Aug 29, 2007.

1. I am new to taxidermy and have completed my first whitetail shoulder mount. The mount has turned out ok, my question is,the cape around the horn burr has slightly pulled away. Is this due to not tightening up my stitch in that area? possibly? I'm fresh out of a taxidermy school and would like to correct a typical mistake.

2. HOLMES

HOLMES Active Member

Keep your stitches tight there and I put ear liner adhesive under the skin against the bur. Some people superglue (i have with success) some drill tiny holes and pin with small finish nails.(I don't) I'm sure there are lots of options on this one.

3. If you put some 5 minute epoxy around the burrs you will never have to worry about them again. The problem with trying to pull your stitches real tight there is you will take away skin from the back corner of your eyes. Then your deer will look like an asian person or worse Michael P. lol. Get the epoxy from HD or Lowes and forget it.

4. John W.

John W. New Member

I lay a roll of majic sculpt(little bit wider than a lead pencil)all the way around the burr and then push the skin into it.The next day if I have any doubt or if it looks like the skin is loose I'll put super glue in place and that takes care of any problems. ;D

5. Tom Parish

Tom Parish New Member

You know, instead of messing with glue, you could try thinning your cape a little better, and on your first stitch, wrap it around your antler base, then continue stitching.

6. michael p.

michael p. Getting better with age :)

I put critter clay around my bases & press the hide in good, haven't had any problerms. I know as said before, epoxy sculpt works good as well.

7. Mr.T

Mr.T Active Member

Fresh out of taxidermy school? Don't they have a student support phone number?