1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

First Pelt Ever, Its A Bear, Im In Way Over My Head

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by bear newbie, Nov 24, 2022 at 8:33 PM.

1. Hey everyone. Complete newbie here. I know that bear hides are not a hide to start out with as a first project, but my neighbour shot a bear and was going to just throw out the hide so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to try. I am trying to just preserved the hide to hang on the wall or as a rug/small blanket. There were no head or paws attached to the hide. I have researched a bunch and got conflicting information so this is what has happened so far:
    1. Went in the freezer within hours of being skinned. Frozen about two weeks.
    2. Thawed slowly then fleshed, albeit poorly. My set up was awful and I couldn’t finish. I had to travel for a family issue that had come up and didn’t know what to do to preserve the hide, so I salted it twice, left for about 4 days (thinking I could always go back and flesh more). It leaked a bunch of fluid.
    3. Shook off salt and tried to flesh some more. Probably ruined my fleshing knife by trying to cut through the salt.
    4. Pickled with salt water about 16 hours.
    5. Washed and rinsed twice with dawn dish soap.
    6. Hung to dry overnight.
    Now I am trying to flesh it again, thinking it has been rehydrated properly, and my fleshing knife is either going too deep (to where I can see follicles) or barely getting anything off. There are also spots around the edge where it seems a super thin layer of skin holding the hair on is splitting/peeling off. Is there anything I can do at this point to save this hide? Can I rehydrate it? Am I screwed?

Any tips are appreciated, thanks