1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

fish newby has question

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Bobbi Meyer, Sep 19, 2007.

1. Bobbi Meyer

Bobbi Meyer I luv to ride my tricycle, I luv to ride my trike

I've got two crappie in the freezer now that I'm going to mount, but I have a couple questions. One of them is frozen in a block of ice..thats the way it came to me. Problem is, how in the heck am I supposed to measure the thing? I have liqua cure on hand for the tanning, plus stop rot and all the other goodies. So my question is, can I thaw it out measure it, then put it back in the freezer, or would I be better off to thaw it completely then "tan" it. And if i can do the later, can a liqua cured fish be refrozen for mounting at a later date....sorry for all the questions, I'm new at this fish thing. ??? :)

2. jkidd

jkidd New Member

I'm not sure about the liqua cure and refreezing as I have never used liqua cure. Maybe someone else can chime in on that, but this is what I would do in the same situation. I would thaw, measure(I use half cast so I would mold instead of measure at this point), skin, and put the skin in my denatured alcohol solution for mounting later. I have thawed and refrozen largemouth without skinning before for experimentation with no ill effects, but I have not tried that with a crappie. I would be a little apprehensive about it due to the fragile nature of the scales on these fish. ???

3. NOAH@aarrkk

NOAH@aarrkk Well-Known Member

GA
    Based on my experience, I'd thaw it to a point where it can be put into the position/pose you want it to be and then make a plaster mold for the half cast method. Skin the fish and preserve in denatured alcohol/water overnight and mount the next day after soaking in borax/water for 30-45 minutes.

jerry