1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

To be a taxidermist............

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Don Wilson, Oct 28, 2006.

1. Don Wilson

Don Wilson New Member

Do you really have to be an artist to be a taxidermist????? I look at some of these mounts and think can I do something like this??? Is taxidermy something everyone can do with hard work and attention to detail?? I'm not very artistic but am a stickler for detail. Can I really make something like this happen. I have loved taxidermy my whole life but have always been almost afraid of it. I think to myself "what if I mess this up for this guy". You cant fix alot of stuff in taxidermy...or can you???? thanks for all the info.

Don

2. GGT

GGT New Member

Don, I'm fairly new to taxidermy myself and like you I was hesitant to start. I think there are two main types of people who do well with modern taxidermy. Those with artistic talent and those who follow procedures well. With the forms, eyes, ears, pastes, etc. available today, just about anyone who can follow directions well and use good reference can turn out a decent product. If you have some artistic ability, you can do a great product. The best way to find out where you fit in is to get going and start mounting your stuff and see how it turns out.

3. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

It helps to be artistic, now that old hashed over discusion will start again about taxidermy being an art of craft. You have just hit the bees nest with a stick.