1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

This is my first full body mount - Grey Fox - Please critique

Discussion in 'Lifesize Mammals' started by chris_kreiner, Sep 4, 2006.

1. Hello everyone,

This is my first full body mount. The only other practice that I have had is two whitetail shoulder mounts that I did this last winter. This is my first year in taxidermy. I was wondering if you all could be so kind and give me a few pointers that I so that I can work on my detail. For the eyes I used the reference photos as best I could. I am sure that I will get better as time goes on. It took me 6 1/2 hours to mount this Grey Fox. I don't know how long it really should have taken me but I do feel that I took my time to get the detail as close as possible. But any help would be greatly appriciated for any of my future mounts. Thanks.

2. KevinH

KevinH Active Member

Just from what I can see and Im no expert but, They eyes look to be too open, the ears might be a little too far back, the face itself looks a little disoriented Im not sure what it is, the body looks good from what I can see, just the face looks a little off, keep looking at those reference. Not bad for yur first full body mount. Did you have any training or did you got at this by yurself? Good luck, Kevin

3. I had a guy teach me on my whitetail shoulder mounts but he didn't teach me anything on fox.

4. Skywalker

Skywalker Well-Known Member

I agree with Kevin,very good for a1st mount.The usual mistake for a beginner is to pull the skin too tight on the head.Cut your ear notches a little more forward and concentrate on back combing through the process,and the drying phase.This will make your eyes not pull so much and the whiskers and lip-line will be much more managable.Actually this principal can be applied to the whole mount and should improve your work greatly.Again,good job,now go do another!

5. James Parrish