1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

What the heck happened to my flesher blade.. really upset, please help !

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Amy, Nov 26, 2007.

1. Amy

Amy Mammal artist

Hey guys,

Can anyone help me figure out what happened..

I own the Dakota IV (small flesher) from VanDykes. I have been using the SAME blade on it for over four years! It finally started to get really dull and worn down so I changed it the other day.

Bunch of deer capes to flesh today .. on the first cape, the new blade was razor sharp. Towards the second one, it started dulling slightly so I sharpened it with the steels just like I always do and have done for four years.

Well the blade did not sharpen, in fact it was worse. I kept messing with it and no matter WHAT I do, that blade is as dull as a butter knife. I did everything I could think of and after two hours messing with one cape, I ended up fleshing it by hand.

I've got a bunch to do so can anything suggest ANYTHING? Did I wreck this blade or something?? I didn't do anything to it that I haven't done to the old one!

2. oldterryr

oldterryr Terry's in Heaven with no worries at all.

call van dyke's and get their take on it

3. *

* Liberalism IS A MENTAL ILLNESS !

Doesn't sound right to begin with
    Takes me at least 25 capes top even START to see any dullness on a NEW blade
    I'll bet I don't touch a steel to it for at least 40 capes.
    You must have hit it to hard with the steel or turned the edge in to far or ground it off.

4. Larry B

Larry B New Member

You could have rolled the edge over and caused an under hook. Easy to do on new blades as the edge is longer and easier to bend with the steels. Carefullly run your fingernail (or small steel etc..)under the blade edge and feel for a lip on the underside of the cutting edge. New blades require very light touch ups with small steels.