1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Duckling in a martini glass?

Discussion in 'Habitat and Exhibit' started by Fancie, Jan 18, 2008.

1. Fancie

Fancie Fancie - having a special enthusiasm or interest

Last question for a while.... I have someone wanting to get one of my ducklings mounted in a martini glass for a bar. I have never worked with water before, so I just had a few quick questions.
    First I will be using a casting resin and catalyst mixture. It says it creates heat so I'm assuming I can't just set the duckling into the mixture... any tips about what I should do?
    also what ever you would put in the glass (in real life) would fizz a bit right? (sorry I don't drink so I'm a bit naive) how would I create this effect. just blow bubbles into it with a syringe?
    Thanks everyone your always really helpful.

2. Sikk

Sikk Member

Francie, wow, tight quarters, I think I would make a cut-out from1/8" or so lexan that the duckiling would sit on. It would be cut first to fit the glass, and the reliefed cut for the duckling so that it would have a realistic floating level for the swimming duckling. References would be a must. I would eoxy a habitat in the bottom of the glass if wanted, ie sand, or gravel. epoxy the lexan in place at water level. . Then I would use art. water, some coloring and paint this on top of the lexan. give it ripples , motion etc. I would let this dry, and then set the duckling in and repeat, to get some of the lower fearthers wet etc, and then maybe float some art. duckweed in the mix. post a pic when you get it done paul

3. 3daddysinc.

3daddysinc. 3Daddys taxidermy studio and wildlife attractants

Would'nt that take an awfully BIG martini glass?

4. newbie07

newbie07 New Member

post pics when your done please sounds interesting

5. Heck

Heck Active Member