1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Bondo ears for beginers

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by tazzymoto, Jan 25, 2008.

1. Here's my method for bondo ears, Ive been using this method for 14 years, and it works well for me i do all my mounts with bondo from antelope to whitetails, even African. To start make sure your ears are turned all the way to the edge, you'll know when you get there you'll have a few holes to sew. Make sure you clean with thinner or acetone to remove all the oil.

2. Now i like to ruff up the cartilage. then clean again. scrub with paper towel. mix resin and bondo 50/50 for best results.

3. Now catalize bondo resin mixture, stir well, Pull apart fiberglass mat. cut with scissors.

4. mix well and seperate in two . make a pocket in the ear and put half in each ear, make sure the mix gets all the way to the tip , this will help eliminate air pockets.

5. hang the ears over the edge of the table. Work out the air and thin the ears, make sure you work on them until the bondo starts to kick. then you can thin the edge of the ears. keep working them, nad grooming with a brush.

6. Very nice bondo work!! Great tutorial.Jared

7. chongo

chongo New Member

Does the brushing of the hair help shape the ear? Otherwise, why not wait to brush until after it has already hardened?

8. Jared, My question is resin? What type do you use? I bought bondo but thought it was just the two parts, bondo and hardener? Thanks for the post very timely for this beginner!

9. Dougtman, I use Epo-grip liqiud fast set. It's a two part epoxy that sets up in about 7-10 min. I need the extra time to make sure there's no drumming :D I use to use bondo, but I was never any good at it. As you can see Tazzymotto is very good at it. Nice crisp ear edges.

10. scanman

scanman New Member