1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Which 5 day course?

Discussion in 'Training' started by whitetail94, Feb 6, 2008.

1. whitetail94

whitetail94 New Member

Hey guys and gals, I'm very new to taxidermy. Waiting for my cape to get back from the tannery right now so that I can mount my first whitetail. A local Taxidermist is going to walk me through it at his shop. My questions is, I'm torn between two 5Day courses. Locie Murphy in Ill. or Joe Meder in Iowa? Has anyone attended either of these classes. Thanks for the feed back on my first post.
    Michael

2. Camoup

Camoup New Member

I attended Joes class last feb. He only takes 3 student per class.... I had never mounted anything before going to his class.. I have mounted around 20 deer heads since and they look great... It is a lot to take in, in a week just take a lot of notes... Can not help you with anyone else's course but I'm sure there are other good classes out there. I just went to Joes because I live only a couple of hours from him.. I can not imagine trying to do a gamehead without going to a class. It had taken years off of trying to learn it on my own... Good luck with choosing a class......

3. whitetail94

whitetail94 New Member

Thanks for the reply Camoup. Thats the class that I'm leaning toward. The bad thing is its only a 12 hr drive from where I live.

4. shaneb

shaneb New Member

Whitetail94, have you considered Griffiths big game taxidermy school, I would highly reccomend them. I have heard and seen nothing short of spectacular result from him.

5. I think any of the three will be fine. I did two weeks with Joe a decade ago. Learned a lot.

I think I would go with the one nearest you. I know several people thats been thru Murphys and they come out doing pretty good work.