1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Old Fleshing Machine ?

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by TD, Mar 13, 2008.

1. TD

TD My GGG Grandfather John "Tanner John" King b 1820

Any of you old timers know who made this machine?I bought it years ago used and been running it since.No I.D. on it any where.When I bought it ,it had a leather belt.This is a good one for you George........if anyone knows,you will.Thanks.....Tom King

2. Randy Mac

Randy Mac New Member

To me it looks like a old Dakota! I have seen some that has the same front guards and back guard, but I may be wrong

3. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

I don't recognize it and really, I'm no expert on those issues. Though I'm old enough, the age and era I grew up from was quite isolated, so information was limited. The person most likely to help you is John Janelli. John worked for one of the best tanners who's ever been in the business, a black man named Sinclair Clark. If it was a production machine and not a home made one, John Janelli will know. Email him at sinclairsjj@aol.com

4. TD

Thanks George,Ill ask him..Tom

5. TD

I just sent an email with pictures...Thanks again.Tom

6. That is a vintage Reliable fleshing machine. I have used one for 25 years and they are the best you can get if you know how to set one up.

I have three in my shop.

7. TD

TY David.It has served me well over 15 years and still kickin.....Tom

8. TD

How Old is it BTW?

9. Tom,
    I have always heard the Reliable Machine Works company quit making these machines in the mid 40's. The company was based in Brooklyn, NY. The machines I have are stamped with the name and address. One has a serial number "615" stamped on it, so there were at least that many produced.