1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

First comp mount...critique please

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by CKolar, Apr 20, 2008.

1. CKolar

CKolar Member

Thie is my first competition mount. I'm not really sure how to enter him in the show, so I am looking to ya'll for that advice. I have been doing taxidermy for 4 years now.. this is my third season as a part time taxidermist and I took in 40 this year. Overall I have mounted about 50 deer ...and everyone of them gets better! I don't have any formal training, just videos, and reference items. When I shot this deer I said I'd like to enter him in a show and just see what I can improve. The cape is not perferct, he has some battle scars...I don't know how that will effect my score?
    I am going to the TTAI ingo June and I dont know if I should enter him as "Educational, Amature, or professional" Joe Meder is the WT judge, so I'd like to get the best critique possible....let me know what you think!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Lazarus

Lazarus New Member

Nice mount. Since you are taking in work, that makes you a professional, so enter accordingly.

good luck!

3. Dawg3458

Dawg3458 New Member

Looks great

4. RDA

RDA Active Member

Now for a real critique, you should not be able to see th backs of the eyelids from the front view. your eyes are to set in. the leading edges of you ears either need grooming, or the skin is out of alignment, but thats just my opinion ;) :D

5. Lazarus

Lazarus New Member

I know he asked for a critique, but I have a feeling Meder will give him plenty of feedback. Too late to fix any problems now anyway.

6. RDA

RDA Active Member

never too late!! 8)

7. Lazarus

Lazarus New Member

Hahaa, don't tell me that, I am still working on a comp piece of my own, that I currently hate! LOL