1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Bird tanning solution

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by JCGaydos, Nov 27, 2006.

1. JCGaydos

JCGaydos New Member

Hi all, I have been mounting birds for about 3 years now as a hobby, (all of my own stuff for the wall) and was wondering after reading some of everyones posts;

What does everyone seem to agree on as the best or most efficient way to preserve skin?

I have been using Knoblachs Liqua-cure, but I see some of you use the dry method? Just curiuos as to how the dry methid works versus a tanning agent.

I also use laquer thinner, or Knoblachs degreaser. Do some of you just use dawn or the like?

Thanks for your replies

2. owen

owen New Member

JC, Skin your bird, wire wheel the fat off, wash in warm water with Dawn. Then rinse well in cool water and squeeze water out. Soak in coleman fuel,fluff in borax and blow dry. You'll be amazed at the results. Don't get caught up in the bird skin tanning crap. The borax will sufficientally preserve the skin.

3. BeckyBird

BeckyBird My Baby Bluebirds

I don't tan either--just use borax, or dry preserve if I have it.

I have tried the commercial degreaser, I believe it was Kemal-4 or something. It wasn't nearly as good as Dawn though. I really like the fact that you can buy antibacterial Dawn, and it just smells better too.

4. MarkB

MarkB New Member

How long in colman fuel? Why? I believe ther would be a fire hazard. Coleman fuel from walmart? Soak the entire bird?

Why not just rinse in Dawn, wash off, and then tumble in borax?

Just a few questions.

5. JCGaydos

JCGaydos New Member

Thanks for the replies, I think I will try the next bird using just dawn, fleshing, coleman fuel and the borax and see how it turns out.

I appreciate your time in responding.

Oh yeah, is their an alternative to the coleman fuel? like laquer or something else?

Thanks again.