1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

? regarding bondo/resin molds

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Beavis, May 23, 2008.

1. Beavis

Beavis Member

I'm new to this, I've molded a couple fish in the last six months, and am very pleased with the results. (thx Gary) I prefer to cast with gelcoat/fiberglass, but smooth cast seems to bring equally good results. I have been using Syn-Lube as a release agent. I wax and buff the molds with turtle wax, (I don't think its carnuba). I know these type molds deteriorate over time, but my molds seem to start going bad almost immediately. I couldn't get four good casts out of my last, a nine inch hybrid bluegill. I'm still learning, so I do make mistakes, consequently I have to make a few casts to get one perfect. I have two fish I will be molding soon, so I'd like to get this sorted out. Whatever it is I'm doing wrong, it causes the molds to pit, lose detail and become very rough. Should I try a different release agent? Is smooth cast or gelcoat more "abrasive" to the mold? And while I'm on about this, is there a method of molding that does less damage to the fish than the bondo/resin technique? I figured this is the best place to get an answer quickest, if the mod(s) see fit move it to beginners or molding/casting. Thanks
    D

2. BIGUN

BIGUN Member

Beavis- are you using PVA? the stuff is great because the bondo mold and gelcoat fish never actually come in contact with each other. Bondo is not very hard or stable and your asking a rigid mold to produce several rigid parts- alot to ask. Maybe consider making ONE really good part and then remolding it with a dense fiberglass mold or a silicone mold with a rigid shell mold.
    As far as molding methods- just don't le the fish cook too long or the mold get too hot- all the methods, except silicone and geltrate produce exothermic heat.

3. GBRUCH