1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Please Critique....

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Taxidermydude017, Jun 30, 2008.

1. this is my 2nd bass, and my first walleye. You cant really tell from the picure of the walleye, but I tipped all the scales in the midsection with a combination of bright yellow and gold pearl

2. for comparison, this is my first bass

3. bassnbuck

bassnbuck better late than never

im no expert...just a beginner as u are.....but the bass looks 100% better on the mount....the only thing id suggest is to tone down the lateral spots....but that can give even the best fits.....GOOD JOB....stay at it ur on ur way

4. Iam no expert by no means,,,but it looks like you didnt paint the part between the lips and the cheeks...or under the gill flap..just my 2 cents ...but it still looks goood ..keep up the good work,,you;ll get better with every one,,refernece..reference,,fererece...

5. B Jones

B Jones Memeber of - NTA,UTA,AIT.Proud Member of NZTA.

Nice effort Taxidermydude, it looks to me that you have missed painting areas on your fish. There are areas that show allot of dead looking tissue. Your lateral line on your second fish also looks stenciled.

6. BIGUN

BIGUN Member

WOW Nice work! The first thing I noticed is how great the fins look on both of those fish- super clean and full- not wrinkley- very nice! It looks like you're making a fast and natural progression- I would say keep on keeping on! If you can make as much improvement on the next fihs- that will be incredible. Look at your first bass and then your second and figure out what you did different and why you did it, then keep progressing in that direction, based on your reference materials.
    Pay close attention to your head to body junctions and making sure there are no shrunken areas (clean the skin really well and rebuild any areas that still shrink).